top of page

Interview with Lina Araya

This is my first ever interview (via DM)!!

Lina Araya is an upcoming R&B artist from the 6ix (Toronto) and she has a song coming out soon called 'F.A.N' and I got to hear it before she releases it, and I don't want to give some spoilers, but this song is an amazing song to listen to & I cannot wait for it to drop!!!

 

K: What inspired you to make this song?

L: F.A.N stands for F*** A N*****, I was inspired to make this song after getting over a breakup. There are stages when getting over a breakup and when I wrote that song, I was done healing and felt like I needed to make a song to uplift myself and other people going through similar emotions. Not to be misunderstood, this song is not about my past relationship, but the experience of picking yourself up and the confidence you feel when you finally do.


K: What was the moment in life where you were like 'I want to do music'?

L: I knew all my life I loved music. My mom says I was born to sing, but when I immigrated from Eritrea to Canada, I was pressured by others to look for a more "practical job". So, I looked into many other professions, but I couldn't see myself doing anything but making music. So you could say I never really had a 'I want to do music' moment, I always knew I would.


K: Do you have a fondest music memory?

L: My fondest music memory was when I discovered that I was accepted to the music program that I applied for, because it gave me a guarantee that I will be doing music for the rest of my life.


K: If you could collab with any artist, who would you collab with and why?

L: My dream collab will forever be Beyoncé and J. Cole. Beyoncé is my inspiration (music wise & work ethic wise) so working with her would be a dream. J. Cole is one of my favourite rappers and it's been that way since I was 14. I can really connect with his lyrics and the imagery in his lyrics are amazing. So, it would be an honor to work with these artists.


K: Who are your favourite artists right now?

L: My favourite artists change very frequently, but the two artists that I will always include in this list are Beyoncé and J. Cole, other than that, I'm listening to a lot of Jhene Aiko, Doja Cat, and more.


K: Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

L: I see myself being happy and at peace which is just how I feel at this very moment. I see myself touching the hearts of the people I connect with (through my art). All I know for sure is that, I will be continuing my music because it's what feeds my soul and what makes me happy. I manifest that I will be successful in the music industry within those 10 years (hopefully even before)

K: What's your favourite song at the moment?

L: I can't choose, but at the moment, I have Beyoncé's 'Dangerously In Love' Album on repeat.


K: If you could describe yourself in 3 words and your music in 3 words, what would they be and why?

L: Loving, Talented, and Determined. I chose these words to describe me because I am a hardworking, creative being who loves to see others happy.


 

Connect with Lina Araya


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page