top of page

BARBARA releases ‘Ride the Wave’

Updated: May 8, 2023

About Barbara:

On the dance floor, Bay Area DJ & Musician Barbara is the party. Also known as DJ Barbs, she has played at popular venues; such as W San Francisco Presents & the Burning Man. She draws inspiration from 90s pop-bands, alt-rock, deep house & disco.

‘Ride The Wave’ Single Cover Art

About ‘Ride the Wave’:

Barbara stated that this song is about finding your person, the right love that won’t hurt you or betray you, the love you don’t see coming and finds you when you least expect it, that healthy, whole & honest love that you think can only happen in the movies.


What I think of the song:

This song is upbeat & has an interesting meaning (through the lyrics).


 

INTERVIEW:


K: What inspired you to create ‘Ride the Wave’? B: I got into the studio with my co-producer to make the album and I think we made Ride the Wave like the 2nd or 3rd day in the studio (having never worked together before!). Jim started playing these beautiful chords on the piano and it made me feel all the feels about love. I got to writing the lyrics as Jim was experimenting with the musical elements and wrote straight from the heart. This song is all about my kind, loving husband Colin. We had a whirlwind start to our relationship when he flew from NY to SF for our first date (like straight out of a movie) and he kinda swept me off my feet. He showed me so much love and affection and I could tell he was really genuine and ready for a life with a partner. We got married in Miami in Dec 2021 and had our honeymoon in Mexico in May of 2022 so I wanted Ride the Wave to be very beachy and dreamy to bring us back to that trip celebrating our love and marriage. Its funny because while we were on our honeymoon Bad Bunny’s album came out so I had Moscow Mule on repeat (hence the intro you hear the ocean waves crashing around you and some seagulls). I was so inspired by his song and wanted to bring those atmospheric elements into our song to build the same kind of special place to transport listeners.

K: What was your inspiration for getting into music? B: Oh wow, this may be a long one haha. It’s really been an incredible journey and a real example of how when something is meant for you, it won’t pass you. I think like most musicians, I grew up in a very music-filled home. My mom and I lived with my grandparents in Medford (a small town outside of Boston, MA) and there was always 50s music playing or my mom jamming to Tavares or singing to me. My grandfather, Dominic, aka Grampy, is also a professional saxophone player and owned a music shop so I was always wanting to try different instruments like piano and the flute but I couldn’t get the hang of music theory or reading sheet music. But I realized that I could sing early on and it made me (and others) happy. My mom would bring me to sing at local parties, put me in church choir and I ended up trying out for Handel and Haydn Society, Boston’s Grammy-winning performing arts organization and I got in. I really enjoyed singing with them but still couldn’t grasp music theory, so my ears became my best friends. Naturally, I wanted to pursue music in college, but I couldn’t read music nor sight read – a requirement for every reputable conservatory in the U.S, so I ended up letting go of it all, leaving my passions behind to major in business and art history at Suffolk University. At this point too, I really didn’t see anyone close to me make a path in music so I didn’t feel like I could keep following my dream which really sucked. But here we are 🙂


In 2017, I finally made my dream happen to move to New York City and the energy of the city reignited my love for music. I couldn’t help but to explore every music store and underground club I could find and learn more. I became so enchanted by how the DJs were creating this vibe and world on the dancefloor so I decided I wanted to learn. Thankfully, I had a cousin who lived in New York City too and was a music producer with an old set of DJ equipment lying around. He was so kind to come over to set up the turntables in my 300 square foot apartment (on top of my dog’s crate) and that was the start of my DJ career.


I got my first DJ gig at Black Flamingo, a really well-known music spot in Williamsburg (Brooklyn). I played from open to close and everyone loved it – even the manager asked for the names of a few tracks in my set! The energy was incredible, the adrenaline and rush moving from one track to the next and seeing people on the dancefloor having the best time. After that gig, I began to think how amazing it would feel to spin my own music one day.


Eventually, I moved to San Francisco and took a few classes through Pyramind & IO Music Academy to learn how to produce my own music with Ableton, software and hardware for music creation and performance. I was in flow, spinning regularly, making beats and starting to get booked for bigger DJ gigs and then the COVID-19 pandemic hit. My good friends saw that I was really down (along with most folks) and insisted that I should continue to spread joy through my music – that’s when Digi Disco, a virtual quarantine dance party, was created. And it was amazing, I reached 1000s of people through the weekly stream and it felt so good to spread my joy.


Fast forward to 2022 and I began vocal coaching again to get my voice ready to sing. I started to have all these ideas pour out and knew it was time to make my own music with my vocals. Being able to sing is such a gift and differentiator as a DJ and I knew it was time for me to open up again, be vulnerable and dive in. I got connected to a talented musician/engineer/producer through my vocal coach in Berkeley, CA (his name is Jim Greer and is a member of the Cardboard People band). We met in July 2022 and hit it off immediately. I wanted to make an album and he wanted to work with someone with my level of passion and personality in the dance/electronic world. So we made Palm City Dreams, a 15 track album over 12+ hour days for 2 intense weeks (having never worked together before & never in a studio LOL). I made all the drum beats prior to our demo days in the studio and sent him 100s of voice memos that I thought would form the tracks but it was incredible to create everything new on the fly. We'd open the session with my drum beat, he'd get a bass or guitar going and I'd riff lyrics/get a sense of the vibe. It was an incredible collaboration and I'm really proud of the music.


So to answer your original question, it was a mix of family, singing and performing at an early age and bringing joy to people through my music that really inspired me to pursue this dream.

K: Favourite Musical Memory? B: I go right back to being maybe 5 or 6 and living with my grandparents in Medford. My grandfather worked at Standard Electric and came home around 4 or 5 evey day since he left really early for work and wanted to get a headstart on the commute so he wouldn’t be home super late. And I could remember waiting by the window just before he pulled in the driveway because he’d put on my favorite song (Soul Man by Sam & Dave) and let me park the car (which my little feet definitely couldn’t reach the pedals) but it was a real treat most days.


Another really special memory I have is dancing at my cousin’s house who lived nearby in Medford and she’s like 7 years older so she was playing music from Mariah Carey and bands like Fine Young Cannibals. I remember the first time hearing She Drives Me Crazy and I went nuts! Dancing in my cousin’s room in this little denim outfit my mom picked out, a bow in my hair and cute little socks with bells lol. That’s probably why I also love getting dressed up and picking outfits and costumes for my gigs now as an adult because my mom dressed me so cute and cool when I was little. I was she stopped me from the bowl cut in middle school though haha.

K: How do you find inspiration to write your songs? B: Ok this one is really wild and 100% true…the ideas are literally pouring out of me. I can’t write, record and make them fast enough. I guess it started when I began singing again in like 2021, I started to believe in myself again, get comfortable and build my self-confidence. And I had a really supportive vocal coach who was challenging me and encouraging me to practice daily. So in a way I feel like I’m a vessel for creativity and ideas to flow through me now. The inspo can come from anywhere literally. Like for example today I was walking down S Congress Ave in Austin [here for work and staying with a friend; we saw Flight Facilities last night at the Concourse Project] and so I’m in a very chill, dreamy, vibey, state. And these beautiful melodies came to me and lyrics about seeing the sky blue and new when I’m with you, a new love song. It’s funny when it comes and really cool because I can like hear the parts of the different instruments that would be playing the melodies I’m hearing. Today was a piano and soft pads, very stripped down / raw song and I’m so excited to see where it goes. I close my eyes like I’m surrounded by other musicians playing the song and just let the words come out from wherever deep in my core the creativity is emanating from. I feel so grateful to have this ability and tap into this power. K: Besides ‘Ride the Wave’, do you have any future projects that you can hint about? B: Yes! This is my year of music!! Buckle up and get ready haha. So as I mentioned I recorded my first-ever album, Palm City Dreams at the end of 2022 so I’m releasing a few singles off the album before it comes out in Sept/Oct. I loved having my group of good girlfriends select my single for May so now I’m going to open it up to more fans to select the next song I drop in July (the 2 options are very spicy and sexy and I’m really excited to see how folks react). Then I’ve got a remix coming out for my friends in Cardboard People, 2 dance tracks coming out with my wonderful talented friend Ed Hoffman (DJ and producer based in SF), I’m starting my new radio show on BFF.fm called Hen Haus in May and a bunch of really fun gigs coming out that I’m looking forward to. Later this summer I’ll be back at Burning Man and so excited to perform my new music at a few camps and art cars. So definitely follow me on Instagram and Spotify to enjoy the journey 🙂 K: Who would your ideal collaboration be and why? B: OOOOH this might be the hardest question yet to answer!! I definitely can’t pick just 1. I would really enjoy collaborating with artists that like to play, have fun, experiment, take risks and make the music that I love to listen to. Folks that come to mind would be Polo & Pan, Flight Facilities, Sofi Tukker, John Summit, Bruce Springsteen, Madonna, Elton John, Channel Tres, LCD Soundsystem, Jungle, Diplo, Red Axes. But it’s my ALLTIME dream to work with Rick Rubin – he’s a legend and another level of crazy creative magic. I feel like working in the studio together and making an album would be one of the greatest, most profound experiences of my life. K: If you could describe yourself in 3 words & your music in 3 words, what would they be and why? B: LOVE! Sunshine, Positive, Joy - I can’t tell you the number of total strangers that have come up to me after a set and have said I could feel you radiating joy when you play. My positive, bright energy is palpable and infectious 🙂I tend to play music (and make music) that is groovy, funky, upbeat and will make you want to dance and be silly and playful.

K: What is your favourite song at the moment?

B: Dangggg, its got to be Heart Attack by Flight Facilities. Seeing them live in Austin re-ignited my love for them and how incredible their music is. Like timeless! That’s goals. That song came out in 2014, almost 10 years ago and it still gives me all the feels. Such a good song.

K: What is it like being a women in the music industry? B: It’s definitely not easy but I feel so incredibly empowered and supported by good people around me, believing in me and putting me up for opportunities, helping me make connections and organizations like Femme House, run by LP Giobbi and Lauren Spalding to help increase representation of womxn producers, DJs and artists. I’ve also been really grateful to work with co-producers who value my skills and appreciate my opinion. I don’t think I could work with someone where I felt uncomfortable raising my voice in the creative process, it wouldn’t be good for me or the music. I treat everyone with respect and try not to take things personally when they go in a different direction. My outlook on life is also very much what is the universe doing for me versus to me so I feel like negativity, toxic folks don’t carry too much emotional energy or mental space for me. I also try to uplift other female artists whether sharing tips on production, getting started with DJing, putting folks up for gigs and helping people make connections. We’re a small but mighty community and need to support each other however we can! And if someone is not acting professionally or has a reputation of mistreating women then we must call out this behavior to minimize the impact on future females.

 

You can listen to ‘Ride the Wave’, here!

You can check out Barbara on instagram & Spotify!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page